The Vidette-Messenger Centennial EditionThe 1936 special edition celebrating Porter County's centennial year . . . .

The following article has been transcribed from the August 18, 1936, issue of The Vidette-Messenger, published in Valparaiso, Indiana. This particular special edition focuses on Porter County's centennial celebration and contains a 94-page compendium of Porter County history up to that time.

Return to the index of articles from The Vidette-Messenger's Porter County Centennial special edition.

Source: The Vidette-Messenger, Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana; August 18, 1936; Volume 10, Section 4, Page 8.


Tuberculosis Association Has Record of Nearly Quarter Century Service

The first Porter County Tuberculosis Association was formed about 1910. Mrs. George A. Dodge was the president, Mrs. Peter Horn, treasurer, and Mrs. Schuyler Wilson, secretary. Just how long these officers were in charge is not known. As nearly as we are able to find out the next president was Dr. Harry Hayward, with A. A. Hughart as treasurer, and Gene Hodges, as secretary. In 1923 the association was reorganized with Dr. H. M. Evans as president, A. A. Hughart, as treasurer, and Mrs. S. E. Shideler, as executive secretary. Two years later Rev. Chester W. Wharton became the president, with J. W. Whitaker, treasurer, and Mrs. S. E. Shideler as executive secretary. In 1933 B. H. Kinne became treasurer. This board of officers were responsible for the organization until July, 1936. At this time Mrs. Shideler resigned, and in October her place was filled by Mrs. C. D. Conover. At that time Clinton Jones took the place of B. H. Kinne who also resigned.

H. R. Ball was one of the earliest members of the Porter County Tuberculosis Association. He was always keenly interested in any work the association did, and was always willing to do anything which would aid in the fight against Tuberculosis. His death deprives the association of one of its most loyal directors.

In 1928, the Tuberculosis Association interested a group of civic-minded citizens, and with the aid of the county commissioners contracted with the Irene Byron Sanatorium at Fort Wayne, Ind., to hospitalize the tubercular patients of Porter county. All patients needing sanatorium care have been taken care of since that time.

Taking 1934 as a typical year to illustrate the health work done in the county as follows:

Six free clinics were held.

One hundred eighty-seven cases were examined.

Sixteen cases entered Sanatoria.

Eighty-six patients given other assistance.

Health Education Literature was furnished to clubs, schools and organizations wishing help in health education.

Speakers on health education were furnished to schools and other organizations.

Skin tests and X-Rays were given when necessary to supplement clinic examinations.

The following are the present officers of the association: President, C. W. Wharton, Valparaiso; vice-presidents, Charles McMurtry, Kouts; Warren Canright, Chesterton, W. Warren Phillips, Hebron; board of directors, M. R. Hall, Valparaiso, Mrs. E. H. Powell, Valparaiso, Dorothy Smith, Valparaiso, Dr. G. R. Douglas, Valapaiso; J. M. Givens, Porter. Township chairmen: Boone, G. Warren Phillips; Center, Mrs. Elsie Hall; Jackson, Clarence Olinger; Liberty, Ellen Anderson; Morgan, Mrs. Loring Casbon; Pine, Mrs. Edward M. Gregg; Pleasant, Charles McMurtry; Portage, L. C. Huff; Porter, A. F. Leroy; Union, A. Pryce Noe; Washington, Mrs. C. M. Sheffiled; Westchester, Warren Canright. Seal sale chairman, George A. Nelson, Valparaiso; executive secretary, Mrs. G. D. Conover, Valparaiso; treasurer, Clinton Jones, Valparaiso.

Article transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul