The Vidette-Messenger Centennial EditionThe 1936 special edition celebrating Porter County's centennial year . . . .

The following article has been transcribed from the August 18, 1936, issue of The Vidette-Messenger, published in Valparaiso, Indiana. This particular special edition focuses on Porter County's centennial celebration and contains a 94-page compendium of Porter County history up to that time.

Return to the index of articles from The Vidette-Messenger's Porter County Centennial special edition.

Source: The Vidette-Messenger, Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana; August 18, 1936; Volume 10, Section 3, Page 14.



The Chesterton Lion's club was organized at a meeting held on October 16, 1933, with the following charter members: Dr. R. H. Axe, Hubert S. Barnes, Harold H. Bartels, Elmer E. Beck, Claude Brunk, Vernon Bartels, Warren R. Canright, Horace L. Cooper, Patrick J. Flannery, Ballard A. Flynn, F. M. Goldsborough, J. Oliver Johnson, Jerry H. Marquardt, Arthur E. Nickel, Mox G. Ruge, John C. Read, Roy A. Sherwood, Charles H. Smith, Thomas W. Weisemann, and Dr. L. L. Weisse.

the Lions club is a service organization, devoted to the interests of the community. Activities are both independent and in co-operation with other civic bodies.

The club has been quite active in community affairs, having sponsored and directed a boy scout troop, furnished milk and lunches for underprivileged school children, given Christmas parties for children, made survey in schools to determine the number of children in need of eye care, sponsored several concerts for the benefit of the Chesterton high school band, and co-operated with Chesterton civic bodies in various projects, such as sewer building, road repairs and other community problems.

Present officers of the club are: F. M. Goldsborough, president; Samuel Newton, 1st vice president; R. A. Gardner, 2nd vice president; Mox Ruge, third vice president; R. A. Sherwood, secretary; L. L. Weiss, treasurer; J. C. Bruck, lion tamer; J. C. Read, tail twister; Thomas W. Weisemann, H. S. Barnes, R. C. Gardner and R. A. Miller, directors.

Article transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul