The Vidette-Messenger Centennial EditionThe 1936 special edition celebrating Porter County's centennial year . . . .

The following article has been transcribed from the August 18, 1936, issue of The Vidette-Messenger, published in Valparaiso, Indiana. This particular special edition focuses on Porter County's centennial celebration and contains a 94-page compendium of Porter County history up to that time.

Return to the index of articles from The Vidette-Messenger's Porter County Centennial special edition.

Source: The Vidette-Messenger, Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana; August 18, 1936; Volume 10, Section 3, Page 12.


Sons of American Legion Is Proud Charge of Valparaiso Post; Was Created This Year

Not only does Charles Pratt Post, No. 94, American Legion, have a valuable group, but it also possesses another auxiliary which few posts in the state have - a Sons of American Legion Squadron.

This new addition to the ranks was instituted at a big meeting of the Legion held at the Legion hall on East Lincolnway on February 27, of this year.

With the champion degree team of Lake County Voiture, 40 and 8, American Legion, in charge, the Squadron officers were installed and the membership initiated.

In charge of the rite was P. J. Hanley, state chairman of the Sons of American Legion and the following members of the Lake County 40 and 8 Voiture degree team: E. W. Mills, Paul E. Kelly, H. C. Moulder, Max Goldsmith, H. P. Ingersoll and George Huish.

Officers install by Mr. Hanley comprised: C. Harold Lindberg, captain; James W. Smith, first lieutenant; Warren E. Mounce, second lieutenant; Harvey W. Varner, adjutant; Roy R. Dittman, finance officer; John L. Dean, sergeant-at-arms; Robert L. Weiss, historian; Tom Benton, chaplain.

The Valparaiso Squadron has a membership of eighty-six. Commander T. O. Dillon, present commander of Charles Pratt post, is given credit for successfully launching the Squadron line.

OF especial comment on the membership is the fact that Robert Farrington has seven sons in the Squadron and Jack Yeager has five. The membership roll follows:

John Dale Shatz, James Thomas Lane, Carwin Alon Dalke, James Wilber Smith, Richard Lee Yaeger, Donald H. Yeager, Kenneth Matthew Yaeger, John L. Yaeger, Jr., Thomas E. Yaeger, Byron Lee Ferguson, Jack Roger Ferguson, Owen Butler Schneider, Clarence Gerald Schneider, Malcolm Everett Varner, Harvey William Varner, Howard Lauer Scott, Charles Arnold Stoner, Charles Oliver Barber, Alvin Lewis Bather, Stevens Delworth, John Delworth, Jr., Ira Allen Tuthill, Carroll Dean Tuthill, Verlin Everett Tuthill, Roy Russell Dittman, Jr., James William Schroeder, Richard Myron Schroeder, Arden Glen Brown, Paul Anthony Chistopher.

John Franklin Sievers, Richard Eugene Smith, Edwin E. Kinne, David S. Kinne, William Theodore Andresen, John Spear Andresen, Wesley John Berrier, Jr., Dorwin Leonard Berrier, Calvin Arian Berrier, Malcolm Ernest Fyfe, Harold Edward Henson, Edward Henson, Robert Lincoln Weiss, Martin Alwin Miller, Frederick Allen Miller, Robert Grant Wheeler, Jr., James Curtis Wheeler, Richard Earl Wheeler, John Gordon Cavel, Byron Smith, Jr., Arthur Paul Smith, Donald Herbert Ashton, Robert Marion Ashton, Howard Earl Stipp, William Garrett Conover, Robert Paul Brown, Donald Eugene Brown, Edward Borky Viscow, Thomas Benton, Jr., Robert Benton, Marshall Eugene Parry, Franklin Lane Burrus, Homer Duane Burrus, Vance Ogden Burrus, Mendill Welch Burrus, Joseph Quintin Burrus.

Melvin Kenneth Barneko, Leslie Wilbur Barneko, Charles Harold Lindberg, Charles William Clifford, Frank J. Bender, Oscar L. Allanson, Warren Edward Mounce, Robert Lewis Zeller, John Lyman Dean, James Baker Dean, Charles Ward Burt, Jack Frost Burt, Jr., John Allen Ohlfest, James Francis Hartmann, Joseph Samuel Gowland, William Milton Take, Thomas Lansing Farrington, Allan DeWitt Farrington, Carroll Melvin Farrington, Lester Dawn Farrington, Rodney Wayne Farrington, Robert Lewis Farrington, Jack Patrick Farrington.

Article transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul