The Vidette-Messenger Centennial EditionThe 1936 special edition celebrating Porter County's centennial year . . . .

The following article has been transcribed from the August 18, 1936, issue of The Vidette-Messenger, published in Valparaiso, Indiana. This particular special edition focuses on Porter County's centennial celebration and contains a 94-page compendium of Porter County history up to that time.

Return to the index of articles from The Vidette-Messenger's Porter County Centennial special edition.

Source: The Vidette-Messenger, Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana; August 18, 1936; Volume 10, Section 3, Page 12.



The Porter County Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company with over three and a half million dollars of insurance outstanding, was organized in the early part of 1902, and the first policies were issued on May 2 of this year.

John W. Brummitt, local realtor, was the first president of the company, and when the company had written its first million dollars of insurance, Mr. Brummitt was so elated that he tendered the directors of the company with a banquet. Joseph A. Stephenson was vice-president; P. A. Marquart, secretary, and Jasper N. Finney, treasurer. These officers, with Amos B. Lantz, B. F. Jones, Charles A. Anderson, and A. W. Furness, constituted the first board of directors. When the company was three weeks old a $300 fire occurred. This nearly broke up the company, but the members paid their assessment and the company continued. From then on the company grew and prospered. At one time it had $5,000,000 of insurance outstanding.

Amos B. Lantz, who died recently, was an officer of the company for many years, and served as president of the organization for twenty years, until ill health compelled him to resign.

Charles M. Sheffield is president of the company; Emory Dye, vice-president, and Martin L. Galbreath, secretary and treasurer. Peter A. Marquart of the company prior to Mr. Galbreath.

Directors of the company are: Charles M. Sheffield, W. J. Trost, James Lenburg, Justus Turk, Leroy Selman, Emory Dye and Lawrence Casbon.

The company is a member of the Indiana Mutual Union, and writes insurance on all farm property for protection against fire. It is also agent for the Indiana Farmers' Mutual Insurance company, which writes cyclone insurance.

The offices of the company are located in the Salyer building above the Meagher drug store, corner Washington and Lincolnway, Valparaiso.

Article transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul