The Vidette-Messenger Centennial EditionThe 1936 special edition celebrating Porter County's centennial year . . . .

The following article has been transcribed from the August 18, 1936, issue of The Vidette-Messenger, published in Valparaiso, Indiana. This particular special edition focuses on Porter County's centennial celebration and contains a 94-page compendium of Porter County history up to that time.

Return to the index of articles from The Vidette-Messenger's Porter County Centennial special edition.

Source: The Vidette-Messenger, Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana; August 18, 1936; Volume 10, Section 2, Page 22.



Rotary philosophy of life is a way of living seven days in the week at all times and all places, even when acts are not seen by other Rotarians. The Valparaiso Rotary club was organized on March 21, 1921, at Altruria hall at Valparaiso university when some 167 persons sat down to a banquet served at 6:30 p. m.

Speakers at the banquet included James Herron, of New York City and Walter Pittsford then governor of the district of Rotary which included most of the state of Indiana.

Since that time the prominent business, educational and professional men who are members of this organization have been striving to live a perfect Rotary life -- that means abhorrence of unethical practices. The slogan of the Rotary club is: "He profits most who serves best."

Since the organization the club has fostered a number of movements for the betterment of community life. The most recent achievement has been the promotion of oratorical contests among high school students.

Charter members of the local club when it was organized over fifteen years ago by Rotarians from Chicago and northern Indiana were G. L. Maxwell, Lewis E. Meyers, William J. Morris, William Schleman, O. F. Helvie, M. J. Bowman, B. L. Brenner, G. O. Carpenter, F. D. Hodges, R. H. Johnson, C. L. Jeffrey, M. R. Lowenstine, Mark Palmer, Mox Ruge, Byron Smith, and Frank A Turner.

The following constituted the first staff of officers: G. Leonard Maxwell, president; Lewis E. Meyers, vice president; William J. Morris, secretary; M. J. Bowman, director.

The membership of the club has grown slowly but steadily until the present time, when the membership totals forty-two.

Dinner meetings are held regularly at 12:45 p. m., on each Monday at Hotel Lembke.

Officers of the club at present are Rev. C. M. Small, president; Howard LePell, vice president; Charles Weise, secretary, and Leonard L. Howard, treasurer.

Article transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul