The Vidette-Messenger Centennial EditionThe 1936 special edition celebrating Porter County's centennial year . . . .

The following article has been transcribed from the August 18, 1936, issue of The Vidette-Messenger, published in Valparaiso, Indiana. This particular special edition focuses on Porter County's centennial celebration and contains a 94-page compendium of Porter County history up to that time.

Return to the index of articles from The Vidette-Messenger's Porter County Centennial special edition.

Source: The Vidette-Messenger, Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana; August 18, 1936; Volume 10, Section 2, Page 13.


Moose Lodge Has Support of Splendid Group of Women Sponsoring Service Program

The auxiliary of the Loyal Order of Moose, now the Women of the Moose, has its inception on the first day of June, 1920, when State Organizer Thomas Mahone and his wife, Lena Mahone, of Indianapolis, came to Valparaiso for the purpose of organizing an auxiliary.

Dictator George Coyer of the Moose then called a meeting of the executive committee of the Loyal Order of Moose. The wives of these officers were then solicited to aid in the formation of this division of the order. Foremost among these women were the wife of Dictator George Coyer, Margaret Coyer, and the wives of Prelate Asa Martin and G. E. Norton.

After working with untiring efforts and overcoming many difficulties, the women were rewarded, after sixty days, with twenty-six charter members, namely: Edith Adams, Delphine Carey, Grace Cowin, Margaret Coyer, Daphne Cox, Daisy Clouse, Ida Coyer, Nellie Deardorf, Mary Edwards, Adaline Frame, Edith Havens, Hattie Harbeck, Gladys Hazleton, Edith Martin, Susan Manning, Lena Morton, Mertie Riddle, Lutitia Patton, Minnie Spon, Mollie Simon, Lillian Sheets, Julia M. Turner, Esther R. Tilton, Amanda Young, Anna LePell and Ora Younce.

On the evening of August 30, the first meeting was called, with the LaPorte chapter installing the following officers: Margaret Coyer, Senior Regent; Lena Norton, Past Region; Nellie Deardorf, junior Regent; Edith Martin, chaplain; Lutitia Patton, recorder; Esther Tilton, treasurer; Edith Havens, sentinel; Lilly Sheets, Argus; Daphne Cox, guide; Hattie Harbeck, assistant guide; Delphine Carey, pianist.

The fundamental purpose of the Loyal Order of Moose is to render organized social service within its membership and service to the dependent child by training at Mooseheart and service through charity to families and members stricken in death. The Legion being the second degree Order of Moose, having as its aims the founding and maintenance of a home for the aged, located at Moosehaven, Florida. The Ladies' Auxiliary, Women of the Mooseheart Legion, were organized on November 15, 1916, for the purpose of raising additional funds for Mooseheart and Moosehaven. The members were called Legionnaires in accordance with the general laws, rules and regulations of the Mooseheart Legion of the World.

The officers of the Valparaiso chapter, having been installed the twenty-six Legionnaires, acting by virtue of the dispensation under which they were organized requested that a charter be granted them.

A banquet was served by the members of the Valparaiso Lodge, Loyal Order of Moose, which brought to a close the first efforts of the Valparaiso chapter to become part of one of the strongest, international, fraternal organizations in the world, the Loyal Order of Moose.

At the Atlantic City National convention, in 1931, then name of the organization was changed to Women of the Moose and the members are now called co-workers.

The Legion of the Moose and Women of the Moose voluntarily assume the responsibility of the maintenance of Moosehaven.

Article transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul