James Graves, BiographyPorter County biographical sketches . . . .

Transcribed biography of James Graves


My name is James Graves. There are five people in my family. My dad Lewis is 32. He works for Good and Sons Construction Company. My mom Mary is 34, she is a housewife. My sister Gail is 9. My brother Donnie is 5 and I am 11. We all go to Kouts School.

We used to live in Lakewood, Colorado. While we lived in Colorado we enjoyed camping and hiking in the Rocky Mountains. My dad ran out of work there, so we moved to Kouts, Indiana.

My mom's parents live in North Judson, Indiana. My dad's parents live in Walton, Kansas. My ancestors lived in Russia, then Germany and finally they moved to Kansas in 1875, and started a settlement. Now all that is left are the ruins of a school house and a cemetery where my great, great, great grandfather is buried.

My family and I have lived in Porter County for 10 months. Since we now live in the country, I don't think I would enjoy living in a big city again.

Source: American Revolution Bicentennial Committee of Porter County. 1976. A Biographical History of Porter County, Indiana. Valparaiso, Indiana: American Revolution Bicentennial Committee of Porter County, Inc. 180 p.
Page(s) in Source: 112

This biography has been transcribed exactly as it was originally published in the source. Please note that we do not provide photocopies or digital scans of biographies appearing on this website.

Biography transcribed by Steven R. Shook


CSS Template by Rambling Soul